PTA is a way to engage families and communities in encouraging educational success and supporting special programs and activities. Volunteering at Hayhurst School is a way for parents, guardians, grandparents, friends and community members to show the children how much they value education. There are many different ways to get involved and you can choose a commitment that best suits your family and your schedule. 

Hayhurst PTA is affiliated with the National PTA and Oregon PTA. To become a member of Hayhurst Elementary PTA, please visit this page on the Oregon PTA website, complete the form and make a payment online. If you’re unable to join the PTA online, please contact the PTA secretary.

PTA Meetings

General PTA meetings are held virtually on the second Monday of each month during the school year from 6:30-8:00pm. Board meetings are normally held from 6:00-6:30 immediately prior to general meetings. Meeting details are shared with the PTA email list. You can subscribe to the email list, here.  

Minutes from all general meetings are posted online for public review and each monthly general meeting minutes are voted and approved at the following meeting.

Quorum for each general meeting is 5 voting members.

You are welcome at PTA meetings even if you’re not a PTA member, but only PTA members get to vote.

Meeting Minutes are here.

Who’s Who On the PTA

President*/Volunteer Coordinator: Christy Splitt
Vice President* – Parent/Sustainability Chair: Kirsten Carr
Vice President* – Teacher: Jade Stoffan
Treasurer*: Deirdre Britt
Secretary*/Clothing Closet Chair: Britney Small
Communications Co-Chairs: Jed Schneider and Natalie Haywood
Equity Co-Chairs: JJ Aalto, Thu Truong, and Sara Beck
Events Chair: Jen Zwartverwer
Food Bags Chair: Amy Newcomb
Fundraising Chair: Orit Ofri
School Supplies Chair: Katie Insalaco
Teacher Outreach and Room Representatives Chair: Nicole Lauzon
Unity Garden and Courtyard Chair: Nadya Burchette

* PTA Officer

PTA Documents

  • Governing documents are here.
  • Financial documents are here.
  • Forms are here.
  • Minutes of past meetings are here.
  • For all our public files on Google Drive, please click here.
  • If you have a PTA Google account (mainly PTA officers), you can log in and view additional PTA files here.

Hayhurst PTA is a tax exempt organization under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Service. Your donation is tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. Please consult your tax adviser with questions about charitable contributions. Our EIN: 93-6039319

PTA News & Updates

Call for Volunteers – Run for Hayhurst Fall 2021

Call for Volunteers – Run for Hayhurst Fall 2021

Run for Hayhurst is coming up live, in person, and at the school, on Friday October 22 (NEW DATE). The "Rain-Out" date is the following Monday, October 25. We need your help! If you can volunteer the day of the event, please complete this form to let us know. If you...

read more
School Supplies for All Hayhurst Students

School Supplies for All Hayhurst Students

The Hayhurst PTA makes sure that every kid and classroom has the supplies they need in their classrooms on the first day of school. Other than a few more personal items like a backpack or water bottle, your student is all set. Many thanks to the volunteers making this...

read more